top of page

Easy, homemade vegan burgers!


A few days ago, I was craving some nice, tasty veggie burgers with lots of 'veganaise' - a tasty vegan mayo... A friend had given me a bunch of veggies from her vegetable garden and I wanted to put all of those in my burgers! I started by cooking some brown rice and added some vegetables while it was cooking... Anything I could find, basically:

spinach, tomatoes, onions, zucchini, eggplant, garlic,...

I put the 'softer' veggies in last. Then I put everything in the blender and added some smoked tofu, olives, sun-dried tomatoes and of course some spices and yeast flakes, mixed everything together and that was that! I can't tell you about quantities as I just put in everything I had... But keep this in mind: when the mixture doesn't fall of your spoon easily, it's perfect. Too liquid? Add some flour! I added a bit of buckwheat flour and some arrow root, but you can add any kind, really. Then you simply spoon little bits of the mixture into a frying pan and gently press them with a fork here and there to shape them... Voilà! Your very own, healthy, tasty veggie burgers! I've got to say, the texture was exactly right... Try using millet or quinoa instead of rice, or adding oatmeal... You can add all your favorite grains and vegetables, and get rid of your leftovers! I put mine on a freshly baked, organic bun with some veganaise (egg free mayo), onion rings, lettuce and tomatoes. And honestly, they were the perfect burgers, even if I do say so myself! Have fun with this easy recipe; let me know how it goes. ;-)

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page